I ride, therefore I am!

I want to call myself a motorcycle enthusiast but I can’t. I’m not. I know  little about motorcycles. Most of the terms are jargon to me. I’m not familiar with most of the motorcycle brands or models let alone their history. I’m also not a motorcycle fanatic. I don’t watch MotoGP or subscribe to any motorcycle magazine. Heck, I didn’t even learn how to operate a motorcycle until I was almost 20 years old!Despite my lack of knowledge about motorcycles, I love to ride. That’s enough for me to proudly say RIDER AKO (I am a rider)! Besides, someone once said: “I ride, therefore I am.” Makes sense to me. 🙂

I am starting this blog as a journal of my motorcycle roadtrips. Expect to read about the thrills and adventure when I ride solo, the romance of riding in tandem, the camaraderie riding with a group, the excitement participating in events, and a lot more about the roads of the Philippines and where it leads to. I will also be sharing my best practices about motorcycle riding. No! Nothing like doing wheelies or using the stars to navigate on the streets of Manila. I can merely offer practical tips and advices you might find useful when you ride or travel. You will also get the occasional anecdotes, photos, rants about traffic condition, invites to upcoming rides and anything I think you might like.

Yep, it’s pretty much like another travel blog but I would tend to focus more on the “getting there” part. I think this part is what’s mostly missing from the travel blogs we already have. Probably, it’s because they are asleep traversing the Expressway, sandwiched in between fellow bus passengers or is simply 35000 ft above the ground. Interesting or not, the journey is as important as the destination to a rider. Sometimes, there isn’t even a destination to begin with.

Meanwhile, stay tuned to as I gear up and prepare for a ride. Feel free to leave a comment on my posts or share what you might like. You may also follow me in Twitter @riderako. Ride safe!

About Dom de la Torre

The rider is a 20-something Filipino that rides a Honda Wave 125cc underbone. He knows little about motorcycles yet loves the experience going places on two wheels. Rider Ako is a motorcycle-slash-travel blog. The rider not only shares to you travel destinations and what to see there but also the experience of getting there. You will read about the thrills and adventure when he rides solo, the romance of riding in tandem, the camaraderie riding with a group, the excitement participating in events, and anything that he thinks you might find interesting.When he's broke and the fuel's empty, he will share stories about motorcycling how he sees it through his helmet visor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I ride, therefore I am!

  1. Stevie D says:

    Make no mistake, if you like to ride, you’re a rider. If you can take your bike apart, fix it and put it back together, you’re a mechanic.
    Looking forward to your two-wheeled travels.

  2. maviconde says:

    hi! just dropping by to say thank you for following my blog. following you too…. may you always have a safe ride! 🙂

  3. Jarle Eek says:

    I do not know much about different types of motorcycles. I have a Yamaha Road Star XV1700 Warrior and a BMW F800GS Trophy and the most important thing for me is travel experiences. User to run 12-20.000km per year. Sometimes around the European countries, one pair of tours in the U.S. and other times just here in Norway. Hope one day and run the Silk Road from Europe to Asia 🙂 Important to have a dream 🙂

    Continue driving motorcycle, blog about your trips and I will follow your blog 🙂

    • I sure would want to own such powerful beasts someday but our country’s traffic condition still makes sub-400cc bikes the best choice. Good luck on your trips and when you get to Asia, be sure to take that extra ferry trip to the Philippines.

      I’m following your blog too 😉

Leave a Reply

