Quezon Ecotourism Road

A week ago, I was at Laiya, San Juan, Batangas with Laguna Moto Club and noticed that we passed by a new road under construction. A day after the ride, I heard from the news that the Candelaria Bypass road was just the beginning of the Ecotourism Road Project. A 29.7-km alternate route to the Maharlika Highway is under construction starting from San Juan, Batangas to Pagbilao, Quezon bypassing the town of Sariaya and Lucena City. Excited, I looked it up in Google Maps. There it is!

That’s almost halfway done! =D But there’s a problem!

A closer inspection in Satellite View revealed unfinished sections in the supposedly 16-km stretch already completed.

Of course, what’s in Google Map is probably outdated so I called DPWH Region IV-A office. I was foolish to expect a helpful answer. I guess it’s up to Dhona and me then..

September 23, 2012. It was exactly 8 AM when I made it out of the Calamba City and proceeded to take the Maharlika Highway passing thru Santo Tomas, Alaminos, San Pablo City then stopped for gas at Petron KM98 just after Tiaong bypass road. It’s already 9 AM.

I got flagged at a military checkpoint at KM 104. Note the Tanduay logo.. Don’t drink and drive, folks!

The Candelaria Bypass Road starting few meters past KM 104.
Dhona was screaming with delight as we tear down this open road with nothing but ricefields on either side.

Past halfway the bypass road, I made a right going to San Juan.

After almost  10 kms, a quiet intersection with signboards of beach resorts marks the start of the Ecotourism road.

It’s a lot like the Candelaria bypass road, only narrower perhaps.

After some 16 kms of straight, open road, I reached the end of the road.

It’s this lone bulldozer against 13 kms more of road to be built. This project might still take years to complete! :p

Here’s a shot of Mt Banahaw, north of where I am. Sariaya town proper is somewhere beyond those trees (around 15kms away).

I needed to be in Lucena City by 11 and it’s already a little past 10 AM, so I turned around and asked for directions. I was told to take a baranggay road leading to Sariaya proper. The road was bad and I know that I need to quit as early as five kilometers before I get into more trouble. I had to cancel the appointment.

I started to backtrack on the route I took earlier, hoping to enjoy the Ecotourism Road once more. I was curious what this facility is and later found out it’s Nation Gas, beside Nation Granary.

I also dropped by Hacienda Escudero to inquire about their rates… quite expensive for me. |-)

..also stopped for some lanzones (75 pesos per kilo).

I was home just in time for lunch 🙂 ‘ Til next quickie ride!

About Dom de la Torre

The rider is a 20-something Filipino that rides a Honda Wave 125cc underbone. He knows little about motorcycles yet loves the experience going places on two wheels. Rider Ako is a motorcycle-slash-travel blog. The rider not only shares to you travel destinations and what to see there but also the experience of getting there. You will read about the thrills and adventure when he rides solo, the romance of riding in tandem, the camaraderie riding with a group, the excitement participating in events, and anything that he thinks you might find interesting.When he's broke and the fuel's empty, he will share stories about motorcycling how he sees it through his helmet visor.
This entry was posted in Rides, Solo Ride and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

