Pook ni Mariang Makiling “Experience Home Within the Forest”

It’s the third and last day of the Motolite IRGP6 held at Carmona Racing Circuit. I wanted to go and watch some hot action on the racetrack but it is probably going to be hotter watching on the sidelines under the blazing sun on that Sunday afternoon. Regardless, I needed to get out and ride somewhere. Somewhere away from this hot, humid air. Somewhere distant but away from all the stress in the city. I remembered seeing a trail going up Mt Makiling in Google Maps before so I thought today’s the best day to explore that part of Los Banos, Laguna.

I got the wrong picture what’s up there.

Los Banos is a municipality in Laguna located 63 kms from Manila bordered by Laguna de Bay (N), Bay (E), Calamba City (NW) and Mt Makiling (S, SW). Mt Makiling is a potentially active volcano that rises 1,090 meters above sea level and is named after the forest fairy Maria Makiling.

Traffic can be terrible in Calamba City and Pansol area so I was thrilled to find much fewer cars on the road on my way to Los Banos. Although, there was this crazy ambulance counter-flowing on my lane. No complaints there, it’s an ambulance after all. What I find stupid is that it’s driving in a real hurry with lights flashing but NO SIREN! Really dangerous!

School’s out! a quiet afternoon in UP Los Banos

From the National Highway, I took a turn to Lopez Ave leading to the University of the Philippines Los Banos Campus. Understandably, I needed to secure a visitor’s pass to enter the premises.

The College of Agriculture Academic Heritage Monument. Opposite this is the Carabao Park.

[UP Entrance – right to Kanluran Rd – Jamboree Road] You will be asked to recite the Scout Oath upon entry. Come prepared.

The first Asean Jamboree was held here December 1993. I was still a Kab Scout then.

A sense of responsibility stirs up inside me as I recited the Scout Oath and Scout Law again after a very, very long time.

It’s official. All Boy Scouts are Linkin Park street soldiers.

I took the road on the left of this BSP monument marked by a welcome arch of The National Arts Center of the Philippines leading to the Pook ni Mariang Makiling (pook pronounced as po-ok is Tagalog for place). I was surprised to realize that it is some sort of a resort rather than a park. Ok, let me explain.

I saw the route up Mt Makiling on Google Maps. On the zoom level I was at that time, that’s the only place of interest that came up and I guess because of some incorrectly tagged pictures, I somehow pictured it as a park with a viewing deck overlooking Laguna. It never occurred to me that someone would really have an Olympic-sized pool at that elevation. So why did I not Google it further back then? Why? Because that would take the fun out of it. And it’s fun if you get surprised like this. Ok so there’s a pool, some huts with tables, a small bridge, more tables, and closed cottages suitable for overnight stay.

Coke float please.. Yes, please upgrade that to Olympic-size.. Thank You!

LAKAMBINI for 12 persons at Php 2400. 3BR with 4 beds each, 3TB, 3 electric fan

PARALUMAN for 6 persons at Php 1500. 2BR with attic, 1TB

DIOSA for 6 persons at Php 3000. Same as Paraluman but twice the price. This one’s probably has air conditioning.

MUTYA. Exactly the same specs as Paraluman. It’s under renovation though.

DIWATA for 6 persons at Php 2000. 2BR with air conditioning and TB

Now there’s a lot of uncertainty in the status of their facilities and services so CALL THEM first to verify. Look for Wowie at (049)536-3489

I had a short chat with a caretaker and found out that the viewing deck was in fact in the National Arts Theater. For some reason, motorcycles are not allowed to go up the trail. Cars are advised to floor it when going up so it’s probably too steep for a motorcycle to negotiate safely.

Come on Manong Guard, let us through. Dhona can do it.

Definitely a lot more to see on my return.

Blue route done. Red is scheduled for the next quickie ride.

I’m not really in the mood for an impromptu hike of 3.2 kms, so I am postponing this till the next quickie ride. Besides, I still have half the trail to cover. Anyone who would like to give a teaser?

About Dom de la Torre

The rider is a 20-something Filipino that rides a Honda Wave 125cc underbone. He knows little about motorcycles yet loves the experience going places on two wheels. Rider Ako is a motorcycle-slash-travel blog. The rider not only shares to you travel destinations and what to see there but also the experience of getting there. You will read about the thrills and adventure when he rides solo, the romance of riding in tandem, the camaraderie riding with a group, the excitement participating in events, and anything that he thinks you might find interesting.When he's broke and the fuel's empty, he will share stories about motorcycling how he sees it through his helmet visor.
This entry was posted in Quickie, Rides, Solo Ride and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pook ni Mariang Makiling “Experience Home Within the Forest”

  1. piwo says:

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this write-up and also the rest of
    the website is extremely good.

  2. Hi there, this weekend is good in favor of me, as this moment i
    am reading this fantastic educational article here at
    my residence.

  3. rider ako says:

    Thanks for dropping by..

  4. Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make
    my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your theme.

    Many thanks

  5. rose says:

    Thanks for this very informative post. I’m choosing this for my wedding preps accommodation for the whole family next week since we are getting married in St. Therese Parish, also inside UPLB. The caretaker and guard are accommodating enough to my inquiries. Hope we have a good stay here. Thanks again.

  6. Hola says:

    Indeed a superb place to relax, refresh and cool down oneself during this steamingly hot and humid weather. I just hope that the National government shall invest more and retouch the place especially the overnight facilities. Surely, will return seven folds! Nothing to add, just retouch things. Everything is already a breathless Forest green at its best. And with an Olympic-size pool of cold spring water. So captivating and enchanting forestral hem of Mt. Makiling! Not much in the area could you find such a natural cold spring water resource; almost all are hot spring resorts. How do you find these hot springs during peak of summer?

  7. Google says:

    I am truly grateful to the owner of this web page who has shared this
    wonderful post at here.

Leave a Reply

