End of the World Ride

I just came from an 8-hour shift and I’m starting to load my stuff onto Dhona. No, I’m certainly not running away from the End of the World! Besides, even if the world ends today, just how can you possibly run away from it? And what’s better than riding your motorcycle to the ends of the Earth as it swallows you whole? Don’t worry , the Mayans were just messing with us.

The Dalahican, Lucena Port

The Dalahican, Lucena Port – the Gateway to Marinduque

This is the 7th time I’m riding to Bicol and some things are going to be different.

This is the first time I’m going on a long ride coming off a shift. I did a dry run the other day by doing an 8-hour, 200-km quickie ride from Laguna to Lucena after my shift just to get a feel how it is to doze off at 80 kph to ride on extended hours. Not surprisingly, I felt no difference at all. Sure, I felt tired afterwards but while on the road, I was as alert as ever. Besides, I have done more extreme rides before.

inquired about the RORO schedule and rates at the port's Passenger terminal

inquired about the RORO schedule and rates at the port’s Passenger terminal

I also plan to bypass Eme Road or The Quezon National Park by using the Bondoc Peninsula-Gumaca route some 150 kms away from Laguna. I will also be avoiding the post-apocalyptic roads of Andaya Highway by taking the longer Daet route.

The Passenger terminal viewed from a distance..

The Passenger terminal viewed from a distance..

I might also take the Sagnay-Tiwi route depending on the circumstances. I have planned this route previously but never pushed through because of warnings from other riders that the route is prone to landslides especially during rainy season.

This route is over 500 kms. Laguna-Lucena-Bondoc Peninsula-Gumaca-Calauag-Daet-Naga-Sagnay-Tiwi-Ligao

This route is over 500 kms. Laguna-Lucena-Bondoc Peninsula-Gumaca-Calauag-Daet-Naga-Sagnay-Tiwi-Ligao

Ah! The RAIN! It has seldom rained in Laguna this December but the skies turned gray yesterday as I was having Dhona tuned-up by a mechanic. It eventually rained for a few minutes as soon as I drove out of the car wash. Okay, I can forgive that. I just hope it won’t rain later like it did last Christmas.

Wait! Am I going to blog about the ride? Or am I GOING TO RIDE? Okay, I’m going.. See you after this world ends today! While I’m on the road you might want to check out my Christmas adventure last year:

Day1: Post-Noche Buena Ride
Day 2: Ligao City Fiesta
Day 3: Legazpi City Misadventure
Day 4: Embarcadero’s Go-Kart
Day5: OVERLOADED!

 

About Dom de la Torre

The rider is a 20-something Filipino that rides a Honda Wave 125cc underbone. He knows little about motorcycles yet loves the experience going places on two wheels. Rider Ako is a motorcycle-slash-travel blog. The rider not only shares to you travel destinations and what to see there but also the experience of getting there. You will read about the thrills and adventure when he rides solo, the romance of riding in tandem, the camaraderie riding with a group, the excitement participating in events, and anything that he thinks you might find interesting.When he's broke and the fuel's empty, he will share stories about motorcycling how he sees it through his helmet visor.
This entry was posted in Long Ride, Rides, Solo Ride and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

