(The Actual) End of the World Ride

So…. We made it! The Mayans did indeed just ran out of space for December 22 and onwards on their calendar after all. My previous post was about my plan to do a solo long ride to Bicol that coincided with the (supposedly) end of the world. I am just going to briefly share how horrible this ride was.

eotwr_loaded

HO! HO! HO! Dhona is packed with Christmas goodies!

After I got off of work around 5AM, I started packing and I was able to leave   Laguna past 7AM. Traffic was already heavy and there weren’t any lanes to split as most parts of Maharlika Highway in the province has only 2 lanes. I had to stop often to make sure my cargo is secure. I also lacked sleep and even if I’m not feeling tired, I had more and longer rests stops. I also had quite a number of close calls and cringe-worthy moments on this 12-hour trip.. Yes, 12 hours! Here are some of the pictures..

I used the BonPen route rather than the usual Eme Road or Old ZigZag Road in Quezon National Park

I used the BonPen route rather than the usual Eme Road or Old ZigZag Road in Quezon National Park

a portion of the twisties in Bondoc Peninsula

a portion of the twisties in Bondoc Peninsula

It's already 11AM, 4 hours into the trip, and I have only covered less than 150 kms.

It’s already 11AM, 4 hours into the trip, and I have only covered less than 150 kms. That’s an ave speed of 37 kph

as I checked on Dhona, I was shocked to see the right brake pad has almost fallen off.. I don't have any idea how long this has been this way.

as I checked on Dhona, I was shocked to see the brake pad has almost fallen off.. I don’t have any idea how long this has been this way.

It was immediately clear what happened.. Notice the missing bolt screw that's supposed to keep it in place? Was it never tightly screwed on by the mechanic that replaced it? I would never know..

It was immediately clear what happened.. Notice the missing bolt screw that’s supposed to keep it in place. Was it never tightly screwed on by the mechanic that replaced it? I would never know..

I asked a local if there are any motorcycle shops in the area but I was told the nearest is still in Gumaca, 30 kms away. I kept my speed below 50 kph and reached my scheduled gas stop in Petron Pitogo. To my surprise, they are out of gas. Gumaca is still 20 kms away.

Thankfully, I made it to Gumaca for a full tank of gas and I was also able to find a shop who fixed my brake

Thankfully, I made it to Gumaca for a full tank of gas and I was also able to find a shop who fixed my brake

with my new high visibility vest plus the LS2 Hi-Viz Flip Helmet..

with my new high visibility vest to go with the LS2 Hi-Viz Flip Helmet..

just as I was starting to pick up a faster pacing entering Daet, I saw this accident. The rider involved is OK. In fact, he is in this picture.. the one on the motorcycle to think he wasn't wearing a helmet when he crashed.. no kidding!

just as I was starting to pick up a faster pacing entering Daet, I saw this accident. The rider involved is OK. In fact, he is in this picture.. the one on the motorcycle ..no kidding!

a little rain to slow me down some more.. Great, just great!

a little rain to slow me down some more.. Great, just great!

After 12 hours on the road I reached Ligao City in Albay.

After 12 hours on the road I reached Ligao City in Albay.

I planned to take on the Sagnay-Tiwi route on this ride but because of the delays and mishaps I had on the road, I didn’t have the safety of daylight anymore so I decided not to push through with the plan. C’mon! Cut me some slack, I was 12 hours on the road! *sigh* I always have a not-so-merry December ride.. I hope next year’s different.

About Dom de la Torre

The rider is a 20-something Filipino that rides a Honda Wave 125cc underbone. He knows little about motorcycles yet loves the experience going places on two wheels. Rider Ako is a motorcycle-slash-travel blog. The rider not only shares to you travel destinations and what to see there but also the experience of getting there. You will read about the thrills and adventure when he rides solo, the romance of riding in tandem, the camaraderie riding with a group, the excitement participating in events, and anything that he thinks you might find interesting.When he's broke and the fuel's empty, he will share stories about motorcycling how he sees it through his helmet visor.
This entry was posted in Long Ride, Rides, Solo Ride and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to (The Actual) End of the World Ride

  1. erlynn moises says:

    what a trip! stay safe riderako

  2. Msgurlrocker says:

    lang tibay mo tlga dod! idol ta na ikang maray 🙂

Leave a Reply

