Tour de Albay 2012 Part 1: Bicol International Airport

On my second day in Bicol, I headed out to the direction of Legazpi City with no particular destination in mind. My first stop was the Cagsawa Ruins in Daraga. I took out my camera and it wouldn’t turn on. Then I noticed it’s lighter.. **facepalm** Yep, I forgot to take the battery off the charger. I’m too lazy to go back and get it so I proceeded to Legazpi to buy new ones (non-rechargeable).

The Bicol International Airport still on the EARLY STAGES of construction.

The Bicol International Airport still on the EARLY STAGES of construction.

Since, I am already near Embarcadero, I thought I’ll have a few laps at their Go-Kart since I had so much fun the last time. When I got there, I saw cars parked on the site. I first thought it has been moved somewhere else to make the course longer and more exciting. For a second, I felt excited. But that quickly turned to dismay when I was informed that it is no longer operational. I didn’t bother to ask why because I won’t be satisfied with any explanation anyway. I went to The Boulevard to cool my head.

With the camera now working, I decided to head back to Cagsawa to snap a few shots. While I was filtering my way through the traffic in Daraga, I remembered an article I read about the Bicol International Airport (also called Southern Luzon International Airport) under construction. I wanted to check it’s status.

Blue route is the actual path I took; the red route is the ideal way going to the airport.

Looking at this map, they should make a Legazpi-Airport bypass road. The narrow Penafrancia road from Daraga is too narrow and steep to handle heavy traffic. Just sayin’

From Shell Gas Station Daraga, I made my way to Penafrancia and after 3.4 kms, I (mistakenly) took a right turn going to Comun, Camalig (blue highlight). What I didn’t know was that the Airport Road is stilll 2 kilometers away(red highlight).

Oblivious to this mistake, I proceeded down the winding barangay roads of Dinororan, Dela Paz and Gapo. Then I noticed a patch of barren land in the middle of the ricefields. A local confirmed that it is the airport. I found a backdoor route near Gapo Elementary School.

The landfill viewed from a nearby baranggay road

The landfill viewed from a nearby baranggay road.

The airport was in planning since early 2006

The airport was in planning since early 2006.

As of November 2007, pre-construction activities such as the feasibility study and site development plan have been completed

As of November 2007, pre-construction activities such as the feasibility study and site development plan have been completed.

In September 2012, the Budget department has released P4.6 billion to support the project

In September 2012, the Budget department has released P4.6 billion to support the project

An aerial view taken in 2010. I'd say, there hasn't been much progress after more than 2 years. Maybe I'm just too excited

An aerial view taken in 2010. I’d say, there hasn’t been much progress in 2 years 🙂 Photo courtesy of WowLegazpi. Project facts taken from Wikipedia.

This airport will be the first international airport to be built in Bicolandia and is estimated to be completed by 2014.

This airport will be the first international airport to be built in Bicolandia and is estimated to be completed by 2014. *yawn*

Quite satisfied that I found the airport, I retraced my tracks. However, instead of going back to Daraga, I got interested with the kilometer post showing Camalig is only 12 kms away. I’ve never been to this part of Camalig and there’s no use going back to Penafrancia, so I continued to make my way to Brgy. Cotmon. What’s waiting to be (re-)explored a few kilometers down the road? Read it in Part 2 as I continue to tour Albay.

About Dom de la Torre

The rider is a 20-something Filipino that rides a Honda Wave 125cc underbone. He knows little about motorcycles yet loves the experience going places on two wheels. Rider Ako is a motorcycle-slash-travel blog. The rider not only shares to you travel destinations and what to see there but also the experience of getting there. You will read about the thrills and adventure when he rides solo, the romance of riding in tandem, the camaraderie riding with a group, the excitement participating in events, and anything that he thinks you might find interesting.When he's broke and the fuel's empty, he will share stories about motorcycling how he sees it through his helmet visor.
This entry was posted in Quickie, Rides, Solo Ride and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tour de Albay 2012 Part 1: Bicol International Airport

  1. ang paghuna ko sa bicol international airport botique airport energetic sa paghiling kan gabos meaning attractive, tourist destination pa naman ang albay so dapat magayonon.

    mabalos sa gabos na bikolanos.

  2. dae pa po bang development ang BIA ngonyan na taon kasuarin po sisimentohin ang RUNWAY wara ako mahiling na bagong post kan BIA. mauli na naman me sa Dec. para magbakasyon sa albay haluyon ko na pig halat na matapos ang BIA para dyan na lang me sana ma baba bako na sa manila.

    anyway salamat sa gabos na bikolano sa albay.

  3. Hello, Doms de la torre ano iguana qe bagong development ang airport sa Daraga, igua nang terminal paghuna qo gibo na so RUNWAY.

    • last ko pong pag-agi duman nung Mayo kan sarong taao. iyo man giraray, landfill pa sana.. naghiwas naman buda igwa ng access road pasiring sa Natiinal Hiwaay pero arog man giraray haalos.ngunyan na summer dumanon ko naman tanganing mi landingan ka na pauli.. hehe

Leave a Reply

