Tour de Albay 2012 Part 2: Hoyop-Hoyopan Cave

I allotted the second day of my Christmas Vacation in Bicol to tour Albay. So far, I have briefly re-visited Cagsawa Ruins, Embarcadero, Boulevard and found the site for the on-going construction of Bicol International Airport. I’m on my way to Camalig via Brgy Cotmon (Comun in Google Maps) when I saw the sign pointing to Hoyop-Hoyopan Cave at an intersection. I was still little when I was last there and had little memory what it is like. So of course, I turned around!

ATTGAT: Because stalactites and stalagmites has sharp, jagged edges :p

ATGATT: Because stalactites and stalagmites has sharp edges :p

Hoyop-Hoyopan Cave is a privately-owned and has multiple levels. There are man-made structures inside the cave such as cemented pathways, stairs, a rest area and even a dance floor complete with disco lights! It can be explored under an hour on your own or with a guide for Php 300. How to get a discount?

I pretended to very adventurous and gave my soon-to-be-guide the impression I am going in on my own. Soon enough, he tagged along saying it’s better if I have someone to show me around and he’ll settle for an “ikaw na bahala (voluntary)” fee later on.

The cave's entrance. Entrance fee is only ten pesos.

The cave’s entrance. Entrance fee is only ten pesos.

The stalactites form different sorts of images or illusion.

The stalactites form different sorts of images or illusion.

There were incandescent bulbs but they were not turned on so it's pitch black inside and we're only relying on a rented Php 30 flashlight.

There were incandescent bulbs but they were not turned on so it’s pitch black inside and we’re only relying on a rented flashlight (Php 30).

You'll be trapped FOREVER inside the cave if you can't make it out of this narrow exit. Haha! No worries. There's an alternate route..

You’ll be trapped FOREVER inside the cave if you can’t make it out of this narrow exit. Haha! No worries. There’s an alternate route..

Okay class, A stalactite and a stalagmite that meets together is called a COLUMN.

Okay class, A stalactite and a stalagmite that meets together is called a COLUMN.

The guide can't give me a straight answer when I asked why this was cut. Sadly, commercializing this tourist spot has been exaggerated. The disco doesn't even function anymore.

Sadly, commercializing this tourist spot has been exaggerated. Disco’s not even in use today anymore. #whatthehellwereyouthinking

It's actually good to have a guide so you'll know the story of some of the cave formations. This one's a grotto.

It’s actually good to have a guide so you’ll know the story of some of the cave formations. This one’s a grotto.

..or you can just let your imagination run wildly. This one's on the ceiling.

..or you can just let your imagination run wildly. This one’s on the ceiling.

This one looks like a snake’s head. There are a lot more when-you-see-it-you’ll-shit-bricks cave formations.

This one looks like a snake’s head. There are a lot more when-you-see-it-you’ll-shit-bricks cave formations.

Oh yeah, the cave’s name came from the Bikolano term “hoyop” which means “blowing of air/wind”  because of the wind blowing through the different cave openings. On a good day, you can see Mayon Volcano from another cave exit. Souvenir shops are located near the entrance or the parking lot. For a more serious cave adventure, Calabidongan Cave is nearby.

Road to the left takes you to Daraga, the road I'm coming from is where the cave is. I'm going to Cagsawa so I will head straight on this road.

Road to the left takes you to Daraga, the road I’m coming from is where the cave is. I’m going to Cagsawa so I will head straight on this road.

the cave is only 10kms from Camalig proper (red route) on well-paved road.

the cave is only 10kms from Camalig proper (red route) on well-paved road.

Cagsawa Ruins is only 16kms away from the cave and I stopped by once more to enjoy the view. The spillway has also been rebuilt so vehicles can now pass thru. It was totally demolished by a typhoon in 2011.

Mayon Volcano was hiding again behind the clouds

Unfortunately, Mayon Volcano was hiding again behind the clouds.

The ATV ride costs Php 1850 for 3 hours. No, thank you. I've had enough "off-road" experience thanks to DPWH.

The ATV ride costs Php 1850 for 3 hours. No, thank you. I’ve had enough “off-road” experience thanks to DPWH. 😉

I finally made up my mind to do the Tiwi-Sagnay route so I headed to Tabaco City. I passed by the Super Typhoon Memorial somewhere in Bigaa. I paid my respects to the victims.

"...To those who perished and others who survived; You are not forgotten, neither will you ever be." Super Typhoon Reming 11.30.2006

“…To those who perished and others who survived; You are not forgotten, neither will you ever be.” Super Typhoon Reming 11.30.2006

When I got to Tabaco, rain clouds appeared so I turned around. It was an easy decision because I saw a resort ad earlier and remembered I wanted to check it out as well.

I was

Saw a man in barong tagalog prepping up that blue Yamaha Sniper at the Sto. Domingo Church entrance and I thought he was gonna chicken out on the wedding.

I was low on fuel but the only option I have is a not-so-known gas station so I only loaded 1L of fuel. It’s a decision I”ll regret soon. Read about it on the last and final part of my tour in Albay as I explore a vacation spot only the rich and famous can afford.. MISIBIS Residential Resort!

About Dom de la Torre

The rider is a 20-something Filipino that rides a Honda Wave 125cc underbone. He knows little about motorcycles yet loves the experience going places on two wheels. Rider Ako is a motorcycle-slash-travel blog. The rider not only shares to you travel destinations and what to see there but also the experience of getting there. You will read about the thrills and adventure when he rides solo, the romance of riding in tandem, the camaraderie riding with a group, the excitement participating in events, and anything that he thinks you might find interesting.When he's broke and the fuel's empty, he will share stories about motorcycling how he sees it through his helmet visor.
This entry was posted in Quickie, Rides, Solo Ride and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tour de Albay 2012 Part 2: Hoyop-Hoyopan Cave

  1. erlynn moises says:

    more fun in albay

Leave a Reply

