Tour de Albay Part3: Cagraray Island (Misibis Resort)

I have lived in Albay for over two decades and I haven’t heard of Misibis Resort often. Nobody has. I can even name more people who has been to space than Misibis. I’m serious! Okay. Space, Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin. Misibis, Zach Efron. Haha! The point is, Misibis is too exclusive that you can only get to the resort by a speed boat or by a helicopter.  The cheapest room per night costs P20,000. That already says a lot.

Ladies and gentlemen, may I present to you the hidden beauty of Albay

Ladies and gentlemen, may I present to you one of the many hidden beauties of Albay. Dagos tabi kamo (Come, you are welcome)!

So, why am I going to this ultra-expensive resort only the powerful, rich and famous can afford?

I’m not! I’m going to Cagraray Island where the resort is. Cagraray Island is part of the municipality of Bacacay and Malilipot in the province of Albay. It is part of the strip of islands on the Lagonoy Gulf. As I mentioned earlier, this part of Albay is hardly known because of it’s remoteness because of the lack of roads. But all that changed sometime in 2012 when a bridge was constructed to join the island to the mainland.

Misibis is 37kms away from Legazpi (blue+yellow route) Sula is 5kms away from Misibis. (red route)

Misibis is 37kms away from Legazpi (blue+yellow route) Sula is 5kms away from Misibis. (red route)

This bridge is located 14 kms from Sto. Domingo. In the map above, it is where the blue route meets the yellow.

This bridge is located 14 kms from Sto. Domingo. In the map above, it is where the blue meets  yellow.

It was a scenic drive and I try hard to resist the urge to stop from time to time.

It was a scenic drive and I try hard to resist the urge to stop from time to time.

On a viewing deck, you can the little islands between Cagraray and Batan Island.

On a viewing deck, you can the little islands between Cagraray and Batan Island.

I was so mesmerized by the scenery that I forgot to check on my fuel. When I did, it was on empty again. I thought of turning back but instead gambled on the possibility that there might be “bote-bote” (reselling of fuel by small store owners) deeper into the mountains. My gut feeling was correct and I found s small store reselling 1L of fuel for P75. A few kilometers more and I reached Misibis Residential Resort.

Misibis Residential Resort: Your Luxury Island Playground.

Misibis Residential Resort: Your Luxury Island Playground.

The Cagraray Exo-Energy Park.

The Cagraray Eco-Energy Park has exciting facilities and activities for everyJuan.

Aside from the activities you get to enjoy in this adventure and leisure park, it also showcases different forms of alternative energy like the hundreds of solar-powered lamp posts I passed by earlier. Actually, there’s still a lot of construction going on in the park. I hope it’s 100% ready by Summer.

Now, THIS IS an amphitheater!! WOW! Just wow!

Now, THIS IS an amphitheater!! WOW! Just wow!

A multi-purpose building that's more inclined to be some sort of a chapel or church.

A multi-purpose building that’s more inclined to be some sort of a chapel or church.

The High Ropes and the Zipline with what appears to be a mudslide under construction.

The High Ropes and the Zipline with what appears to be a mudslide under construction.

The park has also a pool and a hanging bridge but I didn’t get the chance to check them out. The park appears to be closed that day and I just sneaked in I invited myself in so I really don’t feel comfortable strolling the park on my own. I kept Dhona close. We’ll be outta there in seconds the moment we hear someone cocks a shotgun!

I didn't want to risk getting myself in trouble trying to find out where all those unpaved road leads to. There's always a scenery to appreciate while touring inside the park

There’s always a scenery to appreciate while touring inside the park but I didn’t risk getting in trouble trying to find out where the unpaved roads lead to.

I realized that the sun is setting but I don’t want to pass up the chance to see where the rest of the paved road leads to. I exited the park and moved on to Sula (red highlight on the map below). This route has some really steep slopes. Yikes!

The red route is from the eco-park to the barge port used before the bridge was built.

I wonder why the bridge was built between the blue and yellow when the old barge route (blue-red) is a shorter drive going to Misibis. They almost have the same distance.  Hmm? Would you know why?

The mountain on the background is part of mainland Bacacay where the cable car is. (no longer operational).

The mountain on the background is part of mainland Bacacay where the cable car is. It is no longer operational and so are these barges.

I only have a little over an hour of daylight left so I left right away.  Too bad I didn’t have enough time to explore more parts of the island. Still, I am leaving with a huge smile behind my helmet because I feel closer to my homeland now. Plus, I know that’s there’s still more waiting when I return. Maybe they’d even have a bridge crossing to Batan Island by then.

Most men (even teenaged boys) carries a tabak (machete) with them most of the time.

Most men (even teenaged boys) carries a tabak (machete) with them most of the time.

Up and over mountain ridges with a frequent view of the sea and the nearby islands. BREATHTAKING!

Up and over mountain ridges with a frequent view of the sea and the nearby islands. BREATHTAKING!

One more stop before heading home.

One more stop before heading home.

About Dom de la Torre

The rider is a 20-something Filipino that rides a Honda Wave 125cc underbone. He knows little about motorcycles yet loves the experience going places on two wheels. Rider Ako is a motorcycle-slash-travel blog. The rider not only shares to you travel destinations and what to see there but also the experience of getting there. You will read about the thrills and adventure when he rides solo, the romance of riding in tandem, the camaraderie riding with a group, the excitement participating in events, and anything that he thinks you might find interesting.When he's broke and the fuel's empty, he will share stories about motorcycling how he sees it through his helmet visor.
This entry was posted in Quickie, Rides, Solo Ride and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tour de Albay Part3: Cagraray Island (Misibis Resort)

  1. Fr. Antonio B. Peralta says:

    Like it. Very informative.

  2. Renato Umac says:

    where is that amphitheater exactly located? I wanna go there. can you give exact point on the map. please

  3. Fred says:

    My understanding is that the amphitheater is part of the resort. I saw it on another blog.

Leave a Reply

