Semana Santa 2012 (Part 5): Holy Days! Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday

I finally got to cross the longest bridge in the Philippines in Visayas after my first RORO ride, and an exciting ride through Samar both at night and during daytime. I got to do this on my birthday that coincided with the Holy Week of 2012.

???????????????????????????????

Holy Week (Semana Santa) in the Philippines is observed  with Spanish-influenced Catholic rituals such as processions, visita iglesia (church visit), and re-enactment of the suffering of Jesus Christ. It starts Palm Sunday but doesn’t really get hyped until Wednesday through the following Sunday. I have until Friday to enjoy my stay in Bicol.

SPY WEDNESDAY

Still tired from my trip to Visayas, I still managed to wake up early that Wednesday. Didn’t do much this day other than have Dhona checked and spend the whole day with my family.

Maintenance/Repair, done. Bike wash, done. Uncle duties, never ending! :)

Maintenance/Repair, done. Bike wash, done. Uncle duties, never ending! 🙂

San Pedro (left) with the key to the Pearly Gates and his rooster

San Pedro (left) with the key to the Pearly Gates and his rooster; and San Juan Bautista (right)

wed_prusisyon4

Santa Marta (left) and Mater Dolorosa (right)

wed_prusisyon3

La Agonian (left) and La Pacencia (right)

Scourging at the pillar Carrying of the Cross

Scourging at the Pillar (left) and Carrying of the Cross (right)

MAUNDY THURSDAY

My clubmates from Laguna Moto Club is scheduled to ride to Bicol come Holy Thursday. I met up with them near the Albay-Camarines Sur boundary and joined them up to Legazpi City. They stayed in Camalig. Later that afternoon, I took my nephew to hike Kawa-Kawa Hill.

Text Twist 2 is too easy, eh?

Text Twist 2 is too easy, eh?

Waiting for the LMC Team Bicol.

Waiting for the LMC Team Bicol.

The Big 4: Yamaha Sniper, Yamaha Soul, Suzuki Skydrive, Suzuki Raider, Kawasaki Fury, and my Honda Wave

The Big 4 is present: Yamaha Sniper, Yamaha Soul, Suzuki Skydrive, Suzuki Raider, Kawasaki Fury, and my Honda Wave.

It's his first time to reach the top of this "Hill without a Top"

It’s his first time to reach the top of this “Hill without a Top” Very Good! 5 stars for you Nonoy!

No slacking off.. You need to stay fil. Bwahahah

No slacking off.. You need to stay fil. Bwahahah!

GOOD FRIDAY

Everyone is in the middle of enjoying their Holy Week but since I got to start mine early, it also ends early. I have work on Black Saturday so I have to leave Bicol on Good Friday. I came across men with black hoods covering their faces whipping their backs or some carrying the cross. This has been part of the Holy Week celebration in the Philippines. Some even crucify themselves, literally having their palm and feet impaled to be nailed to the cross. These men believe this is their way for atoning to their sins – just like how Jesus suffered for the sins of mankind.

My nephew eagerly helping out with applying chain lube.

My nephew eagerly helping out with applying chain lube.

I was having a very good run with minimal vehicles on the road. I covered some 225 kms from Ligao to Lopez, Quezon in under 4 hours. Then a standstill for over an hour. A procession of the Saints was cutting through the main highway and there is no other way. This procession happens in almost all the towns of the Philippines during Holy Week, Lopez just happens to have their procession pass by the ONLY ROAD EVERYONE USES! And no, they won’t let motorists pass by even at a few intervals, not even if there is a gap in the procession because of a delay in a float. Once the procession starts, no one’s getting through. A procession is a loop, it ends where it begins. So, that means that it cuts the main highway TWICE. Oh well!

Getting stranded by the procession!

Getting stranded by the procession!

I stayed in Quezon National Park in pitch black darkness for over 30minutes to shoot long exposure shots. Very few vehicles came by.

I stayed in Quezon National Park in pitch black darkness for over 30 minutes to shoot long exposure shots. Very few vehicles came by.

I finally made it home by 11 PM. It sucks to come back to work in the middle of a supposedly long holiday but I accomplished what I wanted so I’m not complaining 🙂

This ends the 5-part series of my Samar-Leyte Adventure during Holy Week 2012. I know it’s been a year ago, and I’m sorry (or not ;p), but like what I mentioned on the first post of this series, I just felt sorry for myself I am stuck at work during this years Holy Week. But mind you, I wasn’t such a loser after all. Just a little over a week ago, I spent 4 days on the road. I just had to finish this series to get that one started. I hope I can post them soon!  It was exciting re-living this Visayas trip though.

About Dom de la Torre

The rider is a 20-something Filipino that rides a Honda Wave 125cc underbone. He knows little about motorcycles yet loves the experience going places on two wheels. Rider Ako is a motorcycle-slash-travel blog. The rider not only shares to you travel destinations and what to see there but also the experience of getting there. You will read about the thrills and adventure when he rides solo, the romance of riding in tandem, the camaraderie riding with a group, the excitement participating in events, and anything that he thinks you might find interesting.When he's broke and the fuel's empty, he will share stories about motorcycling how he sees it through his helmet visor.
This entry was posted in Long Ride, Rides, Solo Ride and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

