Entering Ilocos Norte: The Badoc Stop

It’s the second day of my North Luzon Loop Ride. I woke up past my scheduled takeoff. It’s already 7AM. I did my morning rituals and packed up my stuff. What’s for breakfast? Empanada? Longganisa? Bagnet? Nope! All I had was a Snickers bar. Yeah, seems really stupid to pass up the chance to enjoy Vigan’s delicacies but I’m not really bothered by it.

norte_cover

I took a quick spin around the city while “bookmarking” what I might visit when I return. I’m sure I will. I refueled in Petron just outside of the city while deciding whether to go to Bantay Bell or not. I figured it would make the next trip to Vigan more exciting so I’m crossing it out for now. WHERE TO?

Where else? NORTH, of course!

Ilocos Sur Capitol Building in Vigan City

Ilocos Sur Capitol Building in Vigan City

Plaza Salcedo at daytime. Notice the water tubes that choreographs the Dancing Fountain at night.

Plaza Salcedo at daytime. Notice the water tubes that choreographs the Dancing Fountain at night.

St. Cathedral at day.

St. Cathedral at day.

It is another UNESCO World Heritage

It is another UNESCO World Heritage site.

To us riders, a Vigan visit is not complete without a photo op to the Vigan Arch

To us riders, a Vigan visit is not complete without a photo op to the Vigan Arch.

The sun is up but to my delight the breeze was still cool. It was a pleasant ride going into Ilocos Norte. Ilocos Norte is a province with 21 municipalities and 2 cities. When I think of this province, the Marcoses comes to mind.

Cabugao - 08:40 AM Sinait - 08:50 AM

Cabugao – 08:40 AM
Sinait – 08:50 AM

The Ilocos Sur-Ilocos Norte Boundary.Interestingly, it is 40 kms from Vigan and also 40 kms from Laoag from the opposite direction.

The Ilocos Sur-Ilocos Norte Boundary.Interestingly, it is 40 kms from Vigan and also 40 kms from Laoag in the opposite direction.

This is in Badoc, Ilocos Norte. The first town of Ilocos Norte bordering the south.

This is in Badoc, Ilocos Norte. The first town of Ilocos Norte bordering the south.

I haven’t even broken a sweat yet when I came upon Badoc Welcome facade at KM 448. The town of Badoc is the birthplace of the famous painter Juan Luna. The Badoc Church is the home of the La Virgen Milagrosa said to have floated to the shores of Badoc all the way from Nagasaki Japan in 1620. A peculiar feature of the church is the opposite appearance of the belfry and the church itself. It’s like oversized chess pieces – black and white.

badoc_welcomemarker

Badoc intersection

The arched entrance to the church grounds has lasted up to now. It has never undergone a major renovation according to the gardener I spoke to.

The arched entrance to the church grounds has lasted up to now. It has never undergone a major renovation according to the gardener I spoke to.

The same gardener told me that the priests has always agreed to renovate the church but keep the belfry as it is.

The same gardener told me that the priests has always agreed to renovate the church but keep the belfry as it is.

A plaque near at the entrance also relates that Juan Luna and his siblings were baptized here.

A plaque near at the entrance also relates that Juan Luna and his siblings were baptized here.

Just like Paoay's, this church has also over-grown pillars.

Just like Paoay’s, this church has also over-grown pillars.

badoc_churchside

It is indeed a unique church. Unique and it makes sense. Old structures can only last up to some extent. The paint may take away the beauty of the old look but more importantly, it protects the structure against the elements. I won’t be surprised if at some point, the belfry with be “Gluta-fied” (coined from the skin whitener Glutathione) to match the look of the whole church. I’m glad I got to visit this church.

Honestly, I was surprised at the grandeur of Badoc's town hall. Very neat.

Honestly, I was surprised at the grandeur of Badoc’s town hall. Very neat.

The best of friends stand proud in front of the town hall. The National Hero Jose Rizal and Badoc's very own Juan Luna.

The best of friends stand proud in front of the town hall. The National Hero Jose Rizal and Badoc’s very own Juan Luna.

Speaking of Juan Luna, their old house has been renovated and is now a museum (or a shrine.. whatever). I’ll be honest, museums tend to bore me. Sure, there’s a lot of interesting things to learn from museums, but learning (just like museums) can also be boring. But not the Juan Luna Shrine. I actually enjoyed my stay. Hmmm..

About Dom de la Torre

The rider is a 20-something Filipino that rides a Honda Wave 125cc underbone. He knows little about motorcycles yet loves the experience going places on two wheels. Rider Ako is a motorcycle-slash-travel blog. The rider not only shares to you travel destinations and what to see there but also the experience of getting there. You will read about the thrills and adventure when he rides solo, the romance of riding in tandem, the camaraderie riding with a group, the excitement participating in events, and anything that he thinks you might find interesting.When he's broke and the fuel's empty, he will share stories about motorcycling how he sees it through his helmet visor.
This entry was posted in Long Ride, Rides, Solo Ride and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Entering Ilocos Norte: The Badoc Stop

  1. nvnl says:

    Reblogged this on The Bridge Club Too and commented:
    Nice arch!

  2. I am officially jealous. Nothing like a snickers to start a good ride.

Leave a Reply

